Connect with us

Aizawl FC is first NE club to lift I-League Trophy


Aizawl FC is first NE club to lift I-League Trophy

Sunday, April 30, 2017 will go down in history as, perhaps, one of the glorious days for the Zo tribes as Aizawl FC lifted the I-League Trophy for the first time here in Shillong’s Polo Ground Stadium. With this victory, the team also became the first football club from the Northeast to win the I-League title.

Aizawl FC needed a draw to secure the title over Mohun Bagan, and the match seemed to slip from Aizawl FC when Lajong took an early with Asier Pierrick Dipanda netting a goal in the ninth minute.

However, Aizawl FC recovered to dominate the game until William Lalnunfela scored that crucial equaliser in the 67th minute. The fans were equally supportive and there’s lots of praise from the local administration.

A day earlier, East Bengal FC thrashed Mumbai FC 4-0 to grab the third spot in the league table while Bengaluru finished in the 4th position.

“The core of the team that won the Santosh trophy back in 2014 is the same one that has formed the I league winning team. The winning mentality had already been established and we are very proud of the boys,” said Mizoram Football Association (MFA) Honorary Secretary Lalnghinglova Hmar.

Below is the final ranking for the season.


Editor, Zoram Observer. We publish news from Mizoram, Manipur, Meghalaya, Tripura, Assam and rest of Zoram world.

More in Sports


Trending Today

Latest Comments


Around the world

Promotional Item – Laldinpui

To Top
error: Content is protected !!