Connect with us

Six Newly Elected EMs of MADC sworn in


Six Newly Elected EMs of MADC sworn in

Aizawl: Six  newly elected members of the Mara Autonomous District Council (MADC) were on Tuesday sworn-in as Executive Members (EMs) of the council at MADC forest hall in Siaha, official sources said.

Siaha SDO (S) Lalnunmawii, MCS, on behalf of Siaha Deputy Commissioner, administered oath of office and secrecy to the six Executive Members, while MADC Executive Secretary V. Zacho presided over the oath taking ceremony.

The six Executive Members who took oath on Tuesday are K. Hrahmo, MH. Tiabi, K. Chhuabei, V.VB Byhna, V.VB Byhna, KH. Beihlo and FC. Lawmkima.

During the oath taking ceremony, the newly elected leader of the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) N. Zakhai who was recently sworn in as the Chief Executive Member (CEM) of MADC distributed portfolios to the six Executive Members. K. Hrahmo will take charge of Education Department and he would assist CEM on financial matter. MH. Tiabi was given the portfolio of  LAD & PHE Departments; PWD & I&P Department to K. Chhuabei;  RD & Transport Department to V.VB Byhna;  Agriculture, Horticulture  & Minor Irrigation Department to KH. Beihlo and Forest & Fisheries was given to FC. Lawmkima.

Speaking on the occasion, MDCC President S. Hiato said that there are 8 posts for executive members and 1 more nominated post has been sought from the government. He expressed hope that three more new EMs would be sworn in very soon if the government granted their request.

Among others, opposition leader HC. Lalmalsawma Zasai and MDCC vice president Laicho Notlia also attended the oath taking ceremony.

In the recent MADC polls held on May 4, the ruling Congress swept the polls by winning 17 out of 25 seats. The opposition Mizo National Front (MNF) secured five seats and its ally Mara Democratic Front (MDF) won two seats, while one independent candidate was declared elected. The BJP, which had contested six seats went blank without winning even a single seat.

A total of 31421 voters out of 37,258 electorates exercised franchise in 80 polling stations in the last MADC polls.


Co-Editor, Mr. Khojol is a journalist based in Aizawl, Mizoram. He writes for various national and regional media houses. In his free time, he can be caught reading books and watching movies.

More in Mizoram


Trending Today

Latest Comments


Around the world

Promotional Item – Laldinpui

To Top
error: Content is protected !!