Connect with us

Mara ADC polls ends on a peaceful note with whopping 84.34% turnout


Mara ADC polls ends on a peaceful note with whopping 84.34% turnout

AIZAWL: Polling for the 25-member Mara Autonomous District Council (MADC) ended peacefully on Thursday evening with a whopping voter turnout of 84.34 per cent.

“The polling ended peacefully without any untoward incident”, said an official from the Siaha District Headquarters.

Election officials said the polling was smooth in all the 80 polling stations and there was no incident of violence or disruption during the 10 hour long polling session.  Voting started at 7 in the morning and ended at 5 in the evening.

Siaha District Election Officer, DC Harleen Kaur said that polling was completed under peaceful environment and law & order situation was perfectly normal.

With no violence or lapses reported so far, it is likely that there will be no re-poll in any polling stations.

Sources said that all polling personnel who were deputed for election duty have reported back to the district headquarters.

Of all the polling stations, 15/4 Tipi Ferry polling station in 15 – Amohtlah constituency recorded the highest voting percentage with 97.95 %. On the other hand, 22/4 – New Siaha ‘W’ – III polling station in 22 – Siaha East – I constituency recorded the lowest percentage of voting with 67.30 %.

Altogether, 70 candidates including three females are in the fray. While two females – Pipy John from 10 – Tipa – I and Nghakmawii from 11 – Tipa – II are contesting as Independents, another female candidate K Nadaw is contesting on MDF ticket from 02 – Phura constituency.

Some of the prominent figures whose fate would be sealed in the present election include the incumbent CEM of MADC RT Zachono, who was the nominee of the Congress Party in Rawmibawk constituency. He was facing a tough challenge from C Lalmalsawma Zasai, contesting on MNF ticket.

In 21 – Siaha South – II constituency, there was a close fight among the leading political parties with the Congress fielding KH Beihlo while the MNF fielded N Viakhu.

In 12 – Laty constituency, the Congress’s Beirahmo Syhly was in a straight fight against a nominee of the Maraland Democratic Front, M Laikaw.

A total of 37,258 voters, of which 17,969 are male and 19,289 female were enrolled for the MADC polls spreading across 80 polling stations.

Counting of votes will be held on May 8.

The Mara Autonomous District Council was constituted under Sixth Scheduled of the Constitution of India in 1972.



Co-Editor, Mr. Khojol is a journalist based in Aizawl, Mizoram. He writes for various national and regional media houses. In his free time, he can be caught reading books and watching movies.

More in Mizoram


Trending Today

Latest Comments


Around the world

Promotional Item – Laldinpui

To Top
error: Content is protected !!