Connect with us

LG Independence Cup officially launched in Mizoram


LG Independence Cup officially launched in Mizoram

AIZAWL, JULY 26: The oldest running cup tournament under Mizoram Football Association (MFA), LG Independence Cup, was launched late Wednesday evening here. The illustrious club competition will be played from Friday at Assam Rifles ground (Lammual) here.  The final match will be played on August 15 on the occasion of Independence day.

India international football star from Mizoram Jeje Lalpekhlua took the honour of officially launching the competition in the presence of  MFA and LG electronics officials. The launch programme held at at city hotel here was attended by Amit Gujral, chief marketing officer and Ranjit Kumar, MD of Task Team representing LG Electronics.

The mega football event is being organised by MFA in association with LG Electronics.

Speaking at the launch programme, Gujral said it is just the beginning and they will not stop at the Independence cup.

“We are committed to the people of Mizoram, the youth of Mizoram. We would love to be a part of the upcoming footballing stars from Mizoram and have some kind of association in upbringing the football stature of Mizoram,” he said.

The guests unveiled the new Independence Cup trophy followed by release of a tie draw for the 10 participating teams.

This year’s edition of the Independence Cup will feature the eight Mizoram Premier League clubs and ISL outfit Jamshedpur FC reserves along with Kanan Veng FC from the Aizawl District FA First Division.  The other teams are Chanmari FC, Bethlehem Vengthlang FC, Electric Veng FC, Aizawl FC, Ramhlun North FC, Mizoram Police FC, Chawnpui FC and Chhinga Veng FC.

One of the competition’s former stars, Jeje said: “I was part of the 2006 Independence Cup in what was my first senior tournament in football. It has opened up ways for me and now it is my wish that this year’s edition do the same for other footballers.”

Independence Cup football will also be played by women teams. Miss Mizoram 2018,  T. Ramthanmawii unveiled the jerseys that will be worn by the women teams, all of which are sponsored by LG Electronics.


Editor, Zoram Observer. We publish news from Mizoram, Manipur, Meghalaya, Tripura, Assam and rest of Zoram world.

More in Mizoram


Trending Today

Top 5: Last 7 Days


Around the world

To Top