Connect with us

KS Thanga sworn in as new minister in Lal Thanhawla’s government


KS Thanga sworn in as new minister in Lal Thanhawla’s government

Aizawl ( Senior Congress leader and Aizawl South III assembly constituency MLA, K S Thanga was today sworn in as Minister of State (MOS) in the Lal Thanhawla government.

Mizoram Governor Lt Gen Nirbhay Sharma (Retd) administered the oath of office and secrecy to Thanga during the swearing-in ceremony held at the Raj Bhavan.

With Thanga, Lal Thanhawla government has now 11 ministers. Mizoram can have maximum of 12 ministers.

The 57-year-old student leader turned politician joined Congress and won from Aizawl South -III seat in 2008 state assembly polls and was appointed as parliamentary secretary.

KS Thanga during a swearing-in-ceremony at Raj Bhavan on Wednesday. Mizoram Governor Lt. Gen. Nirbhay Sharma (Rtd) and Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla are also seen.

He won from the same constituency in the 2013 assembly polls on Congress ticket and was again inducted as parliamentary secretary. He however, resigned as parliamentary secretary along with six others on August 30 this year, following the Supreme Court ruling that the act for appointment of parliamentary secretary is “unconstitutional.”

Speaking to reporters after the swearing-in ceremony, Thanga said that he would try his best to serve the people as a minister with the help of Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla and other Congress leaders.

“I have never thought of occupying the post vacated by two ministers after tendering resignation recently. I did not know which portfolios or departments that the government will allot to me. I would be happy even if I am allotted any portfolio and I will try my best to serve the people,” he said.

Two minister posts were lying vacant in Lal Thanhawla’s cabinet since the last part of August this year after two ministers tendered resignation.

On February 15, labour and employment minister Lalrinmawia Ralte had resigned in the wake of the allegation that he was responsible for the plight of 32 Mizo students sent to a Kolkata based fake institute and jeopardizing the career of students as being the chairman of Welfare Board under whose initiative the students were sent to the institution.

Again on 21 August, the lone Chakma minister Dr. BD Chakma had stepped down as Minister of State for Sericulture and Fisheries in protest against the denial of medical seats to four Chakma students who have qualified in the National Eligibility Cum Entrance Test (NEET) this year for studying MBSS under Mizoram state quota.

Meanwhile, sources in the ruling Congress said that the lone woman legislator Lalawmpuii Chawngthu was also to be sworn-in as minister today but could not do so as she was in Delhi.

The government has also by an order on Tuesday, appointed the resigned labour minister Lalrinmawia Ralte as Political Adviser to Chief Minister and he was given the rank of Minister of State.


Co-Editor, Mr. Khojol is a journalist based in Aizawl, Mizoram. He writes for various national and regional media houses. In his free time, he can be caught reading books and watching movies.

More in Mizoram


Trending Today

Latest Comments


Around the world

Promotional Item – Laldinpui

To Top
error: Content is protected !!