Connect with us

Congress sweeps Mara ADC polls

Newly elected members of Mara Autonomous District Council (MADC) with speaker Hiphei.


Congress sweeps Mara ADC polls

Aizawl: Retaining power yet again, the ruling Congress has swept general elections to the 25- member Mara Autonomous District Council (MADC) held last Thursday by winning 17 out of 25 seats after poll results were announced on Monday, State Election Commission officials said.

The opposition Mizo National Front (MNF) and Mara Democratic Front (MDF) combine, which had contested all the seats won 7 seats, while one independent candidate has been declared elected.

The BJP, which had contested six seats drew a blank without winning even a single seat.

The 11th general election to the 25-member Mara Autonomous District Council was held peacefully on 4 May in which 31421 voters out of the total  37,258 electorates exercised their franchise in 80 polling stations. The percentage of total voter turnout was 84.34.

The ruling Congress had contested all the 25 seats, the MNF in 12 seats and its ally, the MDF in 13 seats. There were 14 independent candidates of which one KL.Bana  was elected from Tokalo constituency. Of the seven seats bagged by MNF-MDF combine, MNF won five seats, while MDF bagged two seats.

Altogether there were 70 candidates including three females in the fray. However, all the three female candidates failed to get elected.

Among the top contestants, the incumbent CEM of MADC, RT Zachono, contesting from Amotlah constituency on Congress ticket, was defeated by his rival HC Lalmalsawma Zasai of opposition MNF by a margin of 27 votes.

In Siaha East-II constituency, there was a straight fight between the Congress and opposition MNF where the incumbent  MADC chairman LC. Chakhai, a Congress nominee was defeated by his rival HC Biakcheuva of opposition MNF by a margin 505 votes. Besides, incumbent EM and former CEM, IP Junior, MDF president M. Laikhaw, MNF district president and former CEM, N.Viakhu were other prominent figures defeated in the elections.

In the last MADC polls held in 2012, Congress had won 15 seats, while MDF secured 5 seats, MNF won 3 seats and another two seats were bagged by independent candidates.

As per the polls result declared on Monday, the MNF increased its seats by two, while the Congress also got two additional seats compared to their seats won in the 2012 elections.

Meanwhile, the newly elected Congress members on Monday convened a meeting in the presence of two ministers Zodintluanga and PC Lalthanliana and also MDCC President S. Hiato over the formation of a new government. The meeting unanimously elected N. Zakhai from Amobyuh constituency to be the new CEM and H. Sahlo elected from Siha West-II as the new MADC chairman.

The first meeting of the new council is scheduled on 15 May.


Co-Editor, Mr. Khojol is a journalist based in Aizawl, Mizoram. He writes for various national and regional media houses. In his free time, he can be caught reading books and watching movies.

More in Mizoram


Trending Today

Latest Comments


Around the world

Promotional Item – Laldinpui

To Top
error: Content is protected !!