Connect with us

Sielmat YC Retain Hmar Martyrs’ Trophy; Club Richer by ₹1,00,000

Sielmat FC players celebrate their victory at Saikot Playground after defeating FAST-A in the 14th Hmar Martyrs' Trophy on May 16, 2017.


Sielmat YC Retain Hmar Martyrs’ Trophy; Club Richer by ₹1,00,000

Thangtinlen Haokip instrumental in Sielmat YC’s victory 

Churachandpur: Thangtinlen Haokip continued the feat of his last year’s final exploit as his two-goals earned Sielmat YC a 2-0 victory over FAST in today’s weather-interrupted but thrilling final match of the 14th Hmar Martyrs’ Trophy 2017 played at full-packed Saikot playground, Churachandpur.

The highly anticipated final match began with both sides struggling to set their foot into the match, played over a waterlogged surface, and amidst an uncertain pitch, Sielmat YC first threatened to score when Nelson Kom tested FAST goalkeeper Jedidi Haokip with a curling free-kick and the opening period of the match saw Sielmat YC having a better display with Thangtinlen Haokip coming close to scoring when he put his unusual left-foot strike off target from just inside the penalty box in the 10th-minute mark and opposite, FAST showed some moments of classical attack but ended up without genuine goal-scoring chance and although Sielmat YC posed several threats, FAST goalkeeper Jedidi Haokip’s timely intervention denied them from scoring as the first-half ended goalless.

The match restarted and the vocal Sielmat fans turned themselves into rapturous joy when Thangtinlen Haokip, scorer of last year’s match-winning goal, fired in with a curling shot from the edge of the penalty box to open the deadlock for Sielmat YC just 10 seconds into the restart. and with the champions setting up their defence tight, FAST pressed high to find the equaliser and Samuel R Hmar threatened Sielmat YC custodian Mong Hmangte with a distant free-kick and with FAST sending their men forward, Thangtinlen Haokip doubled his team’s advantage 10 minutes from the first goal with a sublime finish after connecting well an incisive cross from strike-partner Gogocha, who beat his marker with his exaggerating pace and although FAST were pressing hard, the solid defence of Sielmat YC had not allowed them to penetrate through and cushioning a 2-0 lead, the holders produced dominant display towards the end of normal time as Gogocha saw his solo effort just went wide while substitute Sielmat YC winger Zolthang had two close-range attempts off target and into the final minutes of the game, FAST looked like they were cutting the deficit when substitute Michael Joute directed his shot inches wide and the tense final match ended 2-0 in favour of the holders.

With his match-winning performance, Thangtinlen Haokip of Sielmat YC has been awarded “Man-of-the-final match” as his two-goals earned the champions in successfully retaining their title. It may also be worth noting that the striker had won Top-Scorer Award in both 2014 and 2015 editions.

As champions, Sielmat YC pocketed a sum of ₹100,000 with Trophy while beaten finalists FAST had to contend with ₹50,000.

Starting Line-ups :

Sielmat YC :

Goalkeeper : Mong Hmangte.
Defenders :
Immanuel Intoate.
Clement Lalthuoisang.
Daniel L Hmar.
Nelson Kom.

Midfielders :
Cornelius Pudaite.
Seiboi Haokip (Assam Rifles Club).

Forwards :
Thangtinlen Haokip.
L. Gogocha.

Goalkeeper : Jedidi Haokip.

Defenders :
David F Tuollai.
Joseph Joute.
Seiminlun Kipgen.

Midfielders :
Samuel R Hmar.
Cleaven Hmar.

Forwards :
Gogou Hangshing.

Roll of Honours :
Winners : Sielmat YC.
Runners-up : FAST-A (Friendship Athletics Sports Team) of Rengkai.
Best Disciplined Team : Zawlbuk FC.
Top-Scorer : Deepak Singh of FC RIDIL (9 goals).
Best Goalkeeper : L. Jeson Vaiphei of UKB (1-goal conceded).
Fox Journal’s Fans Choice Award : Cornelius Pudaite of Sielmat YC.

Last Five Winners and Finalists :

Winners : Sielmat YC.
Runners-up : FAST-A.

2016 :
Winners : Sielmat YC.
Runners-up : Lamka SC.

2015 :
Winners : Hill Town FC.
Runners-up : Lamka SC.

Winners : B. Aijalon YC.
Runners-up : FAST.

2013 :
Winners : Muolvaiphei YC.
Runners-up : FAST.



More in Sports


Trending Today

Top 5: Last 7 Days


Around the world

To Top