Connect with us

Hmar Martyrs’ Trophy 2017: Sielmat YC Enter Final

Sielmat YC and United Khawzim Brothers players during the semi-final match in Saikot on May 12, 2017. Photo: Muona Infimate


Hmar Martyrs’ Trophy 2017: Sielmat YC Enter Final

Bedeenpar Moyon headed champions Sielmat YC into the final, heartbreak for UKB as a first-goal concede condemned them to a disappointing elimination

Ccpur, May 12, 2017: Experience proved to be the difference of the match as Sielmat YC booked their place into the final thanks to a second-half goal from Bedeenpar Moyon in today’s tense semi-finals of the ongoing 14th Hmar Martyrs’ Trophy 2017 at a packed Saikot playground, Churachandpur.

In today’s semi-finals clash, both sides started the match with high intensity although United Khawzim Brothers had a better start as they produced dominant display inside the opening 10 minutes. However, with the progress of the match, Sielmat YC began settling into the match but the first genuine goal-scoring opportunity fell to UKB as Ginminthang Hangshing was set free on goal but feeling the pressure of being intercepted, the new FC Zalen’s signing fired the ball over the crossbar and the opening half of the match ended goalless despite both sides launching a few promising attack on the break couple with a few tame free-kicks.

With the match restarted, Sielmat YC went on the offensive and got their reward when Bedeenpar Moyon headed home a rebound with a looping header right at the start after Gogocha’s fierce shot was parried into his path by the UKB custodian. However, the goal came at a high cost as the goal-scorer was immediately stretchered off due to an ankle injury suffered in the build-up to the goal.

With UKB playing under immense pressure chasing the game, highly experienced Sielmat YC seized control and frustrated their Khawzim counterparts by introducing their typical game of possessive but pacy football and taking advantage of UKB’s full commitment in attack in search of the equaliser. L.Gogocha almost doubled his side’s lead in contentious circumstance for an offside dispute but the SSU hitman fired his shot straight to the UKB’s custodian and moments later Sielmat goalkeeper Mong Hmangte was forced into full-stretch action as the experienced shot-stopper denied Ginminthang Hangshing’s fierce shot in the opposite direction.

Last year’s top-scorer Thangtinlen Haokip was denied a goal when his solo effort ended in UKB goalkeeper Jeson Vaiphei closing him down in a tight angle and with the clock ticking down, a solid Sielmat YC defence constructed by the experienced quartet of Clement Lalthuoisang-Daniel Hmar-Immanuel Intoate and Nelson Kom held firm to frustrate the Khawzim Brothers’ attack and the champions emerged 1-0 winners to move into the final and in the process strengthening their chance of retaining the title they won last year. While goal-scorer Bedeenpar Moyon walked away with a cash reward of ₹2000 for scoring the winner donated by the watching social worker Th.German Kuki, Sielmat YC are to enjoy free refreshment in the final match with expenses to be borne by Lamka SC manager Thangkhanlal.

The Starting Line-ups:

Sielmat YC :

Goalkeeper : Mong Hmangte.
Defenders :
Immanuel Intoate (RB).
Daniel L Hmar (CD).
Clement Lalthuoisang(CD).
Nelson Kom (LB).

Midfielders :
Cornelius Pudaite.
Bedeenpar Moyon.

Forwards :
Thangtinlen Haokip.


Goalkeeper : L.Jeson Vaiphei.

Defenders :
Mangkholen Kipgen (LB).
Thangminlun Vaiphei (CD).
Thomas Khup Vaiphei (CD).
Henry Lalcha Kipgen (RB).

Midfielders :
1. Peter Seiminthang Haokip.
2. Paulemsiam Vaiphei.
3. Minlian Vaiphei.
4. Lalminlun Vaiphei.
5. Jersey no. 11.

Forward :
Ginminthang Hangshing.

The Result:
Sielmat YC 1-0 United Khawzim Brothers.
Goal-scorer : Ng. Bedeenpar Moyon.

The second semi-final match will be held on May 13 between FC Ridil and Fast (A) at Saikot Football Ground.



More in Sports


Trending Today

Top 5: Last 7 Days


Around the world

To Top