Connect with us

MNF releases names of 39 candidates for Mizoram elections


MNF releases names of 39 candidates for Mizoram elections

Aizawl: Main opposition party the Mizo National Front (MNF) on Monday released names of 39 candidates for the upcoming assembly polls slated for 28 November by fielding 17 new faces.

MNF vice president and Campaign Directorate Chairman R. Tlanghmingthanga announced names of 39 candidates out of 40 assembly seats in a function held at Vanapa Hall here. One candidate from Tuichawng in Chakma area is yet to be fielded.

The MNF has re-fielded 17 former legislator and MLAs including five sitting MLAs and also brought in 17 new entrants.

MNF president Zoramthanga would contest from Aizawl East-I to be up against Congress nominee K. Vanlalrawna and Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM)’s nominee  K. Sapdanga.

Former home minister R. Lalzirliana, who resigned recently and joined the MNF would contest from Tawi constituency. He was tipped against BJP state president Prof. JV Hluna and Congress new entrant Rosiamngheta.

Lalrinliana Sailo, who recently quit as MLA and joined MNF has been fielded at Chalfilh. He was tipped against Congress nominee LT Hrangchal.

Aizawl Football Club owner Robert Romawia Royte, who recently joined MNF has been fielded in Aizawl East-II to be up against finance minister and Congress nominee Lalsawta.

Five sitting MLAs- Vanlalzawma, Lalruatkiam, K. Sangthuma, Lalrinawma and Dr K. Beichhua has been re-fielded in their respective constituencies.

MNF senior vice president and former home minister Tawnluia would contest Tuichang constituency. He was tipped against Congress debutante James Thanghminbgmawia.

Senior advocate C. Lalramzauva would be up against chief minister Lal Thanhawla and ZPM chief ministerial candidate Lalduhoma at Serchhip.

The MNF also released election manifesto on Thursday.

Speaking on the occasion, Zoramthanga expressed apology for the mistakes they have committed during their rule.

“We started our beginning in 2008 without any experiences. There is no doubt that we have committed many mistakes during our government. I expressed my apology again to the people,” he said.

He said that the MNF government would bring all-round developments which are accessible to the people.

Hitting out at Congress, Zoramthanga said it has no hope of winning the assembly elections as people are fed up of Congress rule.

He said that Congress has not only opened wine shop against the interest of the people, but also ignored development.

Zoramthanga further said that the MNF, if comes to power, would upgrade all aided schools and also give special favour to Mizo contractors.

Meanwhile, The Mizoram state unit of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has named 13 candidates for the upcoming Mizoram elections on Saturday night.

The state president Prof JV Hluna has been fielded at Tawi constituency. He would be up against former home minister and MNF nominee R Lalzirliana, who resigned recently and Congress nominee Rosiamngheta.

State general secretary Vanlalhmuaka would contest Serlui Assembly Constituency. He was tipped against Congress’s candidate Lalhmachhuana and MNF nominee Lalrinsganga Ralte.

Mizoram Yuva Morcha president Malsawmtluanga will fight the incumbent Transport Minister John Rotluangliana of the Indian National Congress (INC) at Mamit Assembly constituency.


Mr. Khojol is a journalist based in Aizawl, Mizoram. He writes for various national and regional media houses. In his free time, he can be caught reading books and watching movies.

More in Mizoram


Trending Today

Top 5: Last 7 Days


Around the world

To Top