Connect with us

Mizoram fully prepares for assembly election


Mizoram fully prepares for assembly election

Aizawl: Mizoram state election machinery is fully prepared to conduct elections to the 40-member assembly, elections officials said on Sunday.

The state will go to poll along with Madhya Pradesh on November 28 and results will be declared on December 11.

Mizoram has a total of 7,68,181 people including 3,93,685 female voters. The electorate would cast their votes in 1,164 polling stations where EVMs would be used.

Election officials said that some of the polling officers and polling party would leave for their respective polling stations on Monday, while polling officers, who would be deployed in nearby polling station from the capital and district headquarters would leave for their destinations on Tuesday.

Voting will be held between 7 am and 4 pm and EVM would be immediately rushed to strong room once polling is over, official said.

40 companies of central armed police forces have been deployed, who would be assisted by state police to ensure smooth conduct of polling, they said.

Counting will be held on 11 December in all 8 district headquarters and in Aizawl it will be held in five venues- Assembly Annexe, Hrangbana College, Govt. Aizawl College, Pachhunga University College and R. Dengthuama hall.

Meanwhile, political parties have their last fight as election campaign ends at 4 pm on Monday.

Three National parties, three regional parties and two unregistered state parties are contesting the assembly polls.

The ruling Congress and main opposition the Mizo National Front (MNF) have fielded 40 each, while the BJP was contesting 39 seats and the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) an electoral alliance formed by two political parties and four groups fielded 35 seats.

The newly floated political party People Representation for Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM) has nominated 13 candidates, the National People’s Party (NPP) 9, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) 5 and Zoramthar floated by a pastor has fielded 24.

Altogether there are 209 candidates including 18 women candidates. There 63 independent candidates including ZPM and Zoramthar nominees.

For over 3 decades since 1987 Mizoram election has seen straight fight between the Congress and MNF. But this time it is likely that things is turning different as the ZPM, a combine of six parties which preached change and new system is contesting the polls for the first time. The BJP, which is focusing on five constituency dominated by the minority Chakmas and Brus also likely to open its account.

Lalhmingliana, a political analyst said the BJP may win in Hachhek, Palak and Tuichawng.

He said that the BJP and ZPM will be a king maker in the case of hung assembly.

The ruling Congress, which has been in power since 2008 is hopeful of retaining power for the third consecutive term, while opposition MNF expects simple majority. The Congress and MNF have ruled the state interchangeably since 1987. But no party has been able to form the government for the third term at stretch till date.


Mr. Khojol is a journalist based in Aizawl, Mizoram. He writes for various national and regional media houses. In his free time, he can be caught reading books and watching movies.

More in Mizoram


Trending Today

Top 5: Last 7 Days


Around the world

To Top