Connect with us

Hmar Martyrs’ Trophy 2017 Final: Champions Sielmat YC to Defend Title

FAST-A will take on defending champions Sielmat Youth Club.


Hmar Martyrs’ Trophy 2017 Final: Champions Sielmat YC to Defend Title

Member of Parliament Pi Mary Kom, 5-time World Boxing Champion, will be the Chief Guest. Other dignitaries to attend the event are Manipur’s Minister of (IFCD & YAS) Pu Letpao Haokip; Dr. Chaltonlien Amo, Hon’ble MLA – Tipaimukh A/C; and Dr. L. Fimate, former RIMS Director.

Hmar Inpui president with Member of Parliament Pi Mary Kom.

CCpur, May 15, 2017: After more than a month of full-packed action, upsets and shocking results, the 14th edition of Hmar Martyrs’ Trophy 2017 is drawing to its conclusion come tomorrow when reigning champions Sielmat YC face FAST-A of Rengkai in the title showdown at the iconic Saikot playground, Churachandpur.

With 33 teams participating in this tournament, teams were grouped into 8 different pools and there was no seeding system for last year’s outstanding performers although some potential title contenders were made to stay apart in different groups. At the end of the group stage, the two strongest teams from each group advanced into the knock-out round and until this juncture, both the finalists- Sielmat YC and FAST-A, have yet to taste defeat.

Champions Sielmat YC made a quite start in group A but showed improvement with the progress of the tournament and now they stand in contention to start the final match as favourites especially after a strong show in their semi-final win over another favourite, United Khawzim Brothers.

Meanwhile, FAST-A like their Sielmat counterparts made a slow start to the tournament but gained momentum with the progress of the tournament and now they are on course to break the jinx of their recent disappointments as they prepare to snatch the title from the grasp of the holders meaning they could avenge the quarter-finals defeat of last year against Sielmat YC.

The build-up to the final showpiece:

Both tomorrow’s finalists have enough experience in their squads. In Michael Joute, Lalramsang Tusing, Lalneidik Hmar, Henry Gangte and Cleaven Hmar, FAST-A have a collective array of experienced players who have spent their career in Manipur’s top-level football and with the presence of promising stars such as Jedidi Haokip, Joseph Joute and Seiminlun Kipgen they are a hard side to beat. As for Sielmat YC, with the presence of the likes of Nelson Kom, Mong Hmangte, Daniel L Hmar, Clement Lalthuoisang, Thangtinlen Haokip, Immanuel Intoate and L.Gogocha, they have some of the best players in Manipur in recent times with emerging stars such as Bedeenpar Moyon and Laldarmawi adding fresh blood to the highly experienced squad. As for FAST-A, there is no injury concern but there is doubt in Sielmat YC’s camp as to whether semi-finals winning goal-scorer Bedeenpar Moyon and Immanuel Intoate will be fit to start the final due to the injury they suffered in their semi-finals win over of United Khawzim Brothers with four-time Hmar Martyrs’ Trophy winner Ngamginthang Haokip definitely ruled out as a result of the horror injury he suffered during the group stage.

As it stands and taking into consideration their recent plays and results as well as history and players at their disposal, Sielmat YC are slight favourites to defend their title but a strong show for FAST-A in their semi-final win over tournament favourites FC RIDIL generates belief that they could finally break the jinx of their recent curse and claim the title after their consistent performance in recent years.


1. Opened the tournament with a 2-1 win against Tuithapi YC.
2. Beat VASA 3-0 to confirm their place into the knock-out round.
3. Held Megadash FC 1-1 to emerged group A winners.
4. Overcame a tough Zenhang Lamka YC 1-0 in the pre-quarter finals to advance into the next round.
5. Trounced ABC-Saidan 4-1 in the quarter-finals to send rivals into fear.
6. Earned a hard-fought but a morale-boosting 1-0 victory over heavyweights United Khawzim Brothers to sail through to the final.
7. Face a tough challenge tomorrow as they face FAST-A of Rengkai.
1. Opened the tournament with a hard-fought 1-0 win over last year’s fancied Bungkhawpui FC.
2. Thrashed Zawnglai FC 4-0 to book a place into the knock-out round.
3. Overcame Zenhang Lamka YC 1-0 to emerge Group F winners.
4. Earned a penalty shoot-out victory over Neihsiel Veng YC in knock-out round after normal period ended 1-1.
5. Overcame a tough Teksiepu FC 2-1 to book a place into the semi-finals.
6. Caused heartbreak to big contenders FC RIDIL after registering a 2-0 victory to set-up a final date with reigning champions Sielmat YC.
7. Face a tough challenge tomorrow to snatch away the title from the grasp of the holders.


Team Played Goals Scored Goals Conceded
Sielmat YC 06 12 03
FAST-A 06 11 02

The Squad:

Sielmat YC:

Defending champions Sielmat FC.

Goalkeeper : Mong Hmangte (FC Zalen/Sagolband United – bound).

Defenders :
Immanuel Intoate (former ZFC).
Daniel L Hmar (former TRAU and ZFC).
Clement Lalthuoisang(FC Moirang).
Lalcha Haokip (former ZFC).
Nelson Kom (FC Zalen).

Cornelius Pudaite.
L. Momocha(FC Moirang).
Thomson(Assam Santosh Trophy represent).
Seiboi Haokip (Assam Rifles Club).

Forwards :
Thangtinlen Haokip (FC Zalen and top-scorer in the last two editions).
Ng. Bedeenpar Moyon (FC Zalen).
Zawlthang(former ZFC).


Goalkeeper : Jedidi Haokip (Liverpool DSK Academy graduate).

Defenders :
Zampui (RACC).
David F Tuollai (RACC and former KSC and NISA).
Joseph Joute (RACC).
Lalramsang Tusing(former KSC and ZFC).

Midfielders :
Seiminlun Kipgen (FC Zalen).
Henry Gangte (former Mohun Bagan AC).
Michael Joute (former KSC and NISA).
Cleaven Hmar (Fateh Hyderabad).
Gogou Hangshing (FC Zalen).
Samuel Hmar(Former NEROCA FC and India U-17).

Forwards :

Prizes and Honours :

Winners : Trophy + ₹ 100, 000/-
Runners-up : ₹ 50,000 /-

Other Awards such as Best Disciplined team, Top-Scorer, Best Goalkeeper and Man-of-the-match for final will also be handed out.

The Fixture :
Match : Sielmat YC vs FAST-A.
Kick-off : 12:00 pm.
Venue : Saikot playground, Churachandpur.



More in Manipur


Trending Today

Top 5: Last 7 Days


Around the world

To Top